Africa Guide
recommended trip :

work salaries for expatriate

Work Salaries
July 24, 2005 05:34PM
To anyone who can respond.

I am UK resident and my wife is Mauritian by birth. We have been in the UK for the past 13 years of our marriage and are starting to prepare for going back to Mauritius next year sometime as a resident. I am currently studying for my MCA which is a microsoft certified administrator qualification dealing with C# programming, software development and web page development. I am curious to find out if anyone can tell me the existing salaries for such jobs which involves these qualifications. We have been to the Mauritian consulate in London and we have sorted out the legal requirements for gaining residency.
But my initial requirment at this time is to let me know what is the salary for a programmer, or software developer or web developer in Mauritius. anyone with concrete information. Let me know your help would be appreciated.

Steve
 Reply  Quote

salarys
July 25, 2005 10:32AM
Anonymous User
Hi Steve the salary structure is way below the UK here.Fantastic life, wonderful people, but unlikely you will earn more than R25.000 per month.Also employers usually prefer you to speak french as well.
 Reply  Quote

Salaries
July 25, 2005 08:05PM
Hi Trochetia

Thank you for the info. I was suprised at the salary as IT is in demand. What IT jobs pay more on the island in which departments so i can work around what i am doing. Or would i be better to work for myself. Can you provide this information it would be a big help.

Again many thanks for your input.

Steve
 Reply  Quote

salary
July 26, 2005 09:22AM
Anonymous User
Hi Steve
So sorry to be negative re wages structure. You should think about working for yourself or perhaps see if you can get a contract to work here from an overseas country who pay expatriate salary.Good luck.
 Reply  Quote

work salaries for expatriate
August 01, 2005 04:24PM
hello steve,

trochetia , was right .