Africa Guide
recommended trip :

Moving to Cairo from UK, please help......

Hi,

I am moving to Cairo to be with my Egyptian girlfriend. I have some questions if anyone can help I would be grateful.

I want to ship my car to Alexandria and collect.
Is it easy to get car through customs and would I have to pay to keep it in country?

Can I get anything longer than a one month tourist visa, and if so can I extend in Egypt? I will be marrying eventually, but would like to get a job first. My background is interior design, and teaching art, I have a BA(hons) Textiles, but am willing to teach English.

Many thanks,
Barry UK
 Reply  Quote

car easy and visa too
July 26, 2007 10:41AM
Hi Barry,

Egyptian customs are pretty high but you can manage with some bribe, they call it undertable. It depends on the engine power of your car, it could be anywhere from 40% and up for more than 1000cc.

As far as visa is concern, tourist visa is for max 3 months, although they issue initially for just 1 months any visa type. If you took business visa, you can get upto 6 months stay and for more than that you will need to pay around EGP150 for extension, until then its free. But every month or two you need to extend.

Please remember, the movement you land, register in nearest passport office that you arrived within 7 days to avoid fine. Then after couple of days apply for extension, don't wait till end of your term as Egyptian government don't have computers in offices so every thing manual as it will take anywhere between 3 to 6 weeks for police varification. As per law you will get 15 days after the validity of visa, in that time you can go out of Egypt.

As for job, your both subjects not well taken, so difficult to get job. Remember most Egyptian still don't know English. Dont take any job unless its well documented by law or they will not pay you salary or kick you out any time as they like.