Africa Guide
recommended trip :

Resident foreigners: Importing and Exporting Foreign Banknotes into and out of Morocco

I bank in the UK. If I use my VISA card at an ATM machine in Morocco to withdraw cash, my UK bank charges me more than 5% of the transaction value in transaction and conversion charges. To me, this is unacceptable. In addition, I found the ATM link to the UK to be unreliable at weekends. To boot, the error message that I was always given told me that I did not have enough funds in my account to make the withdrawal. I mean - why not just tell me that the system is down, instead of worrying me in this manner? Very alarming indeed, so I decided to do something about it.

I am an official resident of Morocco, since 2005 and so I decided to start bringing personal cash with me into Morocco and in the past three years have had a mountain of different information given to me by customs officials at both Agadir Al Masira and Marrakesh Al Menara airports.

In 2010, I was stopped by customs officials while exiting through Agadir Al Masira airport and was told that I needed to have a customs declaration form authorised from the point of entry if I wished to re-export any amount of foreign banknotes out of Morocco. "OK," I said. With this official customs declaration, I was told by Agadir customs officers that I would be able to re-export any part of my foreign currency with me on leaving Morocco. So far, so good and so I started to declare my foreign currency every time I arrived in Morocco. For three years, I sometimes took my extra cash back to the UK with me by declaring it on my exit from Morocco and the system seemed to work alright.